Call for Papers

A printable version of the ECRTS 12 Call for Papers.


Giorgio Buttazzo

Scuola Superiore Sant’Anna, Pisa, Italy


Robert I. Davis

University of York, UK



Gerhard Fohler

University of Kaiserslautern, Germany


Submission deadline:

3rd February 2012 (23:59 GMT) this is a firm deadline — it will not be extended for any reason

Notification of acceptance:

30th March 2012


10th July 2012


11-13th July 2012


The twenty-fourth EUROMICRO Conference on Real-Time Systems (ECRTS’12) is a forum aimed at covering state-of-the-art research and development in real-time computing. Papers on all aspects of real- time systems are welcome. These include, but are not limited to:

APPLICATIONS: consumer electronics; multimedia and entertainment; process control; avionics, aerospace; automotive; telecommunications; cyber-physical systems.

INFRASTRUCTURE AND HARDWARE: communication networks; embedded devices; hardware/software co-design; power-aware and other resource-constrained techniques; system-on-chip; time engines and time synchronization; wireless sensor networks.

SOFTWARE TECHNOLOGIES: compiler support; component-based approaches; middleware and distribution technologies; programming languages and operating systems.

SYSTEM DESIGN AND ANALYSIS: modelling and formal methods; probabilistic analysis; quality of service support; reliability, security and survivability; scheduling and schedulability analysis; worst-case execution time analysis; validation and verification techniques.


Full papers must be submitted electronically through our web form in a pdf format. The material must be unpublished and not under submission elsewhere. Submissions must be in the same format as in the final published proceedings (10 pages maximum, 2 columns, 10 pt). Papers exceeding the page limit will not be reviewed. Note that the submission deadline is a firm deadline and will not be extended.

A selection of the best papers will receive outstanding paper awards, and will be highlighted as such in the conference proceedings. These papers will form the shortlist for a best paper award, which will be presented at the conference. At ECRTS’12, we aim to be more inclusive and thus accept a larger number of high quality papers than in recent years.


Following a successful tradition at ECRTS, there will be a special Work in Progress (WiP) session. This session is intended for presentation of recent and on-going work. There will also be a continuation of a number of successful Satellite Workshops including: OSPERT – Operating Systems Platforms for Embedded Real-Time applications, WCET – Worst-Case Execution Time analysis, RTN – Real- Time Networks, WATERS – Workshop on Analysis Tools and methodologies for Embedded and Real-time Systems, and RTSOPS – Real-Time Scheduling Open Problems Seminar. A separate call for papers will be issued later for both the WiP session and satellite workshops. Please visit the website at for further information.


Pisa is located in Tuscany, close to the coast and just 80 km from Florence. It is a university city with a population of nearly 100,000 (including 40,000 students - not all of whom are resident). Once a Marine Republic, Pisa stretches along the shores of the Arno River, and occupies a place of honour amongst the most exclusive of art cities. Its glorious past offers authentic wonders to the tourist, and there is a lot more to see than just the leaning Tower of Pisa, its most popular 'product'. Pisa is very well connected: it has an international airport, "Galileo Galilei", located 2 km from the city centre, with frequent flights to many European airports operated by major flight companies, including discount airlines. The railway station is located on the main line from Turin to Rome and there is a very frequent train service to and from Florence.


Tarek Abdelzaher, Jim Anderson, Karl-Erik Årzén, Vandy Berten, Marko Bertogna, Enrico Bini, Alan Burns, Francisco Cazorla, Anton Cervin, Liliana Cucu-Grosjean, Jean-Dominique Decotignie, Rolf Ernst, Arvind Easwaran, Nathan Fisher, Gerhard Fohler, Shelby Funk, Laurent George, Steve Goddard, Joel Goossens, Sathish Gopalakrishnan, Zdenek Hanzalek, Hermann Hartig, Giuseppe Lipari, Claire Maiza, Pascal Minet, Frank Muller, Thomas Nolte, Stefan M. Petters, Isabelle Puaut, Peter Puschner, Harini Ramaprasad, Rodrigo Santos, Insik Shin, Mikael Sjödin, Wilfried Steiner, Sebastian Stiller, Eduardo Tovar, Tullio Vardanega, Jack Whitham.