8th International Workshop on Real-Time Networks RTN'09

June 30, 2009, Dublin, Ireland

in conjunction with the

21th Euromicro Intl Conference on Real-Time Systems
July 1-3, 2009, Dublin, Ireland

Workshop co-Chairs

Eduardo Tovar

IPP-HURRAY Research Group
Polytechnic Institute of Porto (ISEP-IPP)
Rua Dr. A. Bernardino de Almeida, 431
4200-072 Porto
e-Mail: emt at dei dot isep dot ipp dot pt

Jean-Dominique Decotignie

Swiss Center for Microtechnology CSEM
Case Postale
2000 Neuchâtel
e-Mail: jean-dominique.decotignie at csem dot ch


Program Committee
  • Luis Almeida
    (University of Porto, Portugal)
  • Alexandru Andrei
    (Linkoping University, Sweden)
  • Leandro Buss Becker
    (UFSC, Brazil)
  • Gianluca Cena
    (Politecnico di Torino, Italy)
  • Zdenek Hanzalek
    (TU Prague, Czech Republic)
  • Anis Koubaa
    (CISTER/IPP-HURRAY, Portugal)
  • Lucia Lo Bello
    (University of Catania, Italy)
  • Chenyang Lu
    (Washington University at St. Louis, USA)
  • Pau Marti
    (Technical University of Catalonia, Spain)
  • Luca Mottola
    (SICS, Sweden)
  • Paolo Pagano
    (Scuola Superiore Sant'Anna Pisa, Italy)
  • Christian Poellabauer
    (University of Notre Dame, USA)
  • Binoy Ravindran
    (Virginia Tech, USA)
  • Utz Roedig
    (Lancaster University, UK)
  • Ye-Qiong Song
    (LORIA, France)
  • Stefano Vitturi
    (CNR-IEIIT, Italy)
  • Thilo Sauter
    (Austria Academy of Sciences, Austria)
  • Andreas Willig
    (TU Berlin, Germany)

Previous Editions

Workshop Advance Program

9:00-9h30 Registration

9:30-10h30 Session 1 - Keynote Talk 1

(Chair: Eduardo Tovar; Rapporteur: Zheng Shi)

Temporal, Functional, and Diagnostic Analysis in Sensor Networks
Tarek Abdelzaher
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

10h30-11h00 Coffee Break

11h00-12h30 Session 2

(Chair: Michael Short; Rapporteur: Marcelo Sobral)

Towards Optimised Retransmission Reservation in Real-Time Wireless TDMA
Mark Gleeson, Stefan Weber
Trinity College Dublin, Ireland

A Proposal for a Notion of Timeliness in Wireless Sensor Networks
Ramon Serna Oliver, Gerhard Fohler
TU Kaiserslautern, Germany

A Vision of Cyber-Physical Internet
Anis Koubaa, Bjorn Andersson
Polytechnic Institute of Porto, Portugal

12h30-14h00 Lunch

14:00-15h00 Session 3 - Keynote Talk 2

(Chair: Jean-Dominique Decotignie; Rapporteur: Jean-Luc Scharbarg)

Real-Time Internet for Buildings?
Peter van der Stok
Philips Research Laboratories Eindhoven, The Netherlands

15h00-16h00 Session 4

(Chair: Björn Andersson; Rapporteur: Ivan Tarasov)

A Real-Time and Robust Routing Protocol for Building Fire Emergency Applications Using Wireless Sensor Networks
Yuanyuan Zeng, Cormac J. Sreenan
University College Cork, Ireland

Assessing the Clusters Formation in the HCT-MAC Protocol
Marcelo Maia Sobral, Leandro Buss Becker
Federal University of Santa Catarina, Brazil

16h00-16h30 Coffee Break

16h30-17h30 Session 5

(Chair: Zdenek Hanzalek; Rapporteur: Ramon Serna Oliver)

Design and Development of a Reliable Ethernet-based Real-Time Communication Protocol
Greg Bollella, Mike Duigou, Ivan Tarasov
Sun Microsystems, United States

Improving Information Throughput in CAN Networks: Implementing a Dual Speed Approach
Imran Sheikh, Michael Short
University of Leicester, United Kingdom

17h30 Closing Remarks